Whole30 2017 – Week 2

Hey guys! Sorry this post is a little late, but here it is – Week 2 of Whole30 complete! Week 2 was surprisingly easy, and I didn’t feel a lot of temptation. Even while scouring the internet for dessert recipes to use in my upcoming graduation party, I didn’t have any cravings. The only craving I had was for the baking process itself. I really, really miss baking. So here’s Week 2’s recipe round-up!

Day 8: Wednesday

On Wednesday, I went to my first Rachel Ray show! It was a lot of fun, and I got a cookbook from the guest chef. I was very, very happy when I went through the recipes in the book; there were a few Whole30-compliant recipes, and even more that could easily be adapted to meet the Whole30 restrictions. I was in NYC pretty much all day on Wednesday, but I stayed on track with my food.

Breakfast: 3 hardboiled eggs early in the morning, then a Larabar halfway to the city.

Lunch: After the Rachel Ray show, my mom and I were hungry and we wanted to get something to eat in the city. Unfortunately, Whole30 prevented us from going to a Middle Eastern place and a Japanese restaraunt, but we found a bar and grill to get compliant burgers. I had a satisfying burger with carmelized onions, bacon and grilled asparagus, without the bun.

Dinner: I kind of skipped dinner because we ate late, but had a kale and onion scramble later in the evening.

Day 9: Thursday

Thursday was my long run with mom. We ran 7 miles at a bike path.
Breakfast: Kale and onion scramble and two slices Applegate brand bacon. Because how else would I start the day?

Snack: 1 banana

Lunch: Leftover Whole30 cookbook recipe stuffed peppers, minus the pepper. Just the butternut squash, sausage, kale and onions

Dinner: Donal Skehan, the guest chef on the Rachel Ray show, has a delicious Whole30 compliant recipe in his cookbook, Fresh. It was chicken breast with cajun seasonings, which had a nice kick. It paired delightfully with sweet potato mash, which had a slight coconut flavor due to the coconut oil. The recipe was so simple: chicken breast (or thighs), cajun seasoning, sweet potatoes, coconut oil, salt and pepper. It instantly became one of my favorite quick-dinner recipes.

Day 10: Friday

I don’t remember what I did Friday, but I do remember being so hungry. I usually am the day after a long run.
Breakfast: Shakeology + 1 cup almond milk and 1/2 banana

Lunch: Leftover cajun chicken breast and sweet potato mash

Snack: 2 Italian meatballs + 1 medjool date

Dinner: 2 cracklin’ chicken thighs (from Nom Nom Paleo) with more sweet potato mash


Day 11: Saturday

Saturday was another running day, and again had the bottomless stomach feeling.

Breakfast: 1 cup coffee (it had 1 tbsp cocoa powder and 1 tbsp coconut cream) with 3 slices bacon

Lunch: Shakeology with 1 cup almond milk + 1/2 banana; about an hour later, I had a cajun chicken breast.

Snack: 1 pear with homemade almond butter

Dinner: kale and onion scramble with 3 homemade sausage patties (ground sausage, fennel seed, cinnamon, sage, ginger, salt and pepper)


Day 12: Sunday

Breakfast: 1 hardboiled egg; 2 scrambled eggs with 2 tbsp Whole30 compliant salsa, 3 slices bacon, and chipotle panfried potatoes

Snack: 2 tbsp homemade almond butter

Dinner: 2 salsa verde pork chops with cabbage 

Day 13: Monday

Monday was our dress shopping day. We stopped at Red Robin for lunch. I hate going out to eat while doing Whole30, but it’s very good practice for self-control.

Breakfast: Shakeology with 1 cup almond milk

Snack: Apple pie larabar

Lunch: Red Robin lettuce-wrapped chicken breast burger with bacon, guacamole

Dinner: I forgot to track it so I don’t remember 😑

Day 14: Tuesday

Pre-workout: 1 tbsp almond butter

Breakfast: Shakeology + 1 cup almond butter

Lunch: 2 eggs with broccoli and carmelized onions

Early dinner: Cauliflower rice with Jamacian Jerk seasoned pulled pork

Snack: cabbage with salsa verde and roasted potatoes

Day 15: Wednesday

Breakfast: Leftover Jerk pulled pork and cauliflower rice

Lunch: 3 Italian meatballs with cauliflower rice, broccoli and roasted potatoes

Dinner: 6 italian meatballs with cauliflower rice, broccoli, sweet potato mash and 2 slices of bacon (I was trying to get rid of leftovers)

Well, that was Whole30 Week 2!

Leave a Reply

