Whole30 2017 – Week 1

Well, I’ve survived, and successfully too. The first week flew by pretty fast, and I’m not totally miserable. Yeah, salads are boring now and I miss peanut butter, but it’s not a bad start. I’m actually proud of myself. So, seven days down, 23 days to go.

Now for the first weekly round-up of recipes. The first days were kind of kitchen sink; I made this egg scramble that turned out to be one of my favorite breakfasts, and it’s been my go-to breakfast for the past week, and some of my dinners too. (Recipe below)

Day 1: Wednesday

Breakfast: Kale & onion scramble. Ok, not the most appetizing thing in the world, according to what it looks like, but man is it delicious. I mean, I really like it, but I wasn’t so sure at first. I also used roasted broccoli a few times instead of the kale, and it’s pretty good as well. I had three slices of bacon to go with it.

Lunch: Don’t hate me for this one. It’s the only non-Whole30 thing that I’m eating, and I’m eating it only because I need the extra nutrition while half-marathon training. For lunch, I had 1 scoop chocolate Shakeology with 1 cup almond milk and 1 tbsp mixed nut butter (from Trader Joe’s; it has hazelnuts, walnuts, almonds, brazilnuts, but no peanuts!). I was also running out the door and grabbed an apple pie Larabar.

Dinner: Breakfast was so good that I decided to repeat it. On the side, I had some more broccoli.

Day 2: Thursday

Breakfast: Guess who. Kale & onion scramble, two slices of Whole30 approved bacon. 

Lunch: Shakeology (as above)

Dinner: iBreathei’mHungry’s paprika chicken, without the sour cream gravy. It is one of my favorite dinners, even without the gravy. Also with broccoli, and some cauliflower mash.

Day 3: Friday

Breakfast: I don’t remember 😣 but it was either Shakeology or the egg scramble.

Lunch: Leftover vegetable soup and a paprika chicken thigh.

Dinner: Kale & onion scramble, the broccoli version. We have a lot of broccoli in this house.

Day 4: Saturday

Breakfast: Now that I’m writing it, I realize how many times I’ve eaten this Kale & onion scramble. But I don’t really care and it’s still going to be my breakfast today. So I had this for breakfast on Saturday once again.

Lunch: Shakeology, minus the nut butter.

Dinner: Leftover paprika chicken and broccoli.

Day 5: Sunday

Breakfast: 1 hardboiled egg before my run; half a baked chicken breast and Shakeology afterwards.

Lunch: I don’t think I ate lunch because I had the chicken and Shakeology late in the morning. I snacked on broccoli.

Dinner: Kale & onion scramble, broccoli and a few ribs without the barbecue sauce.

Snack: Apple pie Larabar

Day 6: Monday

Breakfast: Kale & onion scramble, with two slices Whole30 approved bacon.

Lunch: Shakeology

Dinner: I kinda skipped dinner because I was at an orientation for the college program I’m interested in. It was during dinnertime, but I wasn’t too hungry anyway so I just had an Epic sriracha chicken bar, which is thankfully Whole30 compliant.

Snack: 2 coconut medjool dates

Day 7: Tuesday

Breakfast: Kale & onion scramble, two slices bacon.

Lunch: I was cooking dinner, and there was some leftover, so that was lunch. See below.

Dinner: Whole30 cookbook recipe, stuffed peppers. It’s kale, sausage, butternut squash, onion, and garlic all stuffed into roasted bell pepper.

Kale & Onion Egg Scramble

Ingredients:

  • Three eggs, beaten
  • 1 large handful kale (or a handful roasted broccoli, torn into little florets)
  • 1/2 medium  yellow onion, already carmelized
  • 2 tbsp bacon grease or other cooking oil
  • Salt and pepper (garlic salt and pepper is amazing!)

In a small pan, heat the cooking oil over medium heat. Sautee the kale (or broccoli) until dark green and wilted, about 3-5 minutes. (For the broccoli, since it’s already roasted, just heat through, not cook.) Add onions to kale and turn heat to low.

Pour eggs into the pan over the kale and onions, stirring like scramble eggs. Salt and pepper to taste. Serve with bacon or sausage and you’re good to go. It’s pretty simple.

So that was Whole30 week 1. Next week, we will be doing more recipes from the Whole30 book, so I look forward to that!

One thought on “Whole30 2017 – Week 1

Leave a Reply

