Right Now – February 2017

*Warning: this post may contain SPOILERS for the Sherlockians who have not yet seen season 4*

Hey guys!

It’s Feburary…can you believe it? No, it’s not just February. It’s half way through February. We’re half way through the second month.

And that means it’s time for an update. It’s funny how so much can happen in just a few short weeks. That’s all a month is, really. Short weeks.

So, what’s happening? Well, like I mentioned in the January post, I have four Regents exams to take to graduate high school. I was swamped with studying for the first two exams, History and English. I am a firm believer that the word “studying” is a contraction of “students dying”.

It did pay off though. I passed and that’s all I wanted. But now I have two left, Biology and Algebra. Fun, right?

But let’s not talk about school. How does that sound? Lovely? I thought so too.

Let’s see.

In the Star Wars universe, we learned the title for the next movie: Star Wars Episode VIII: The Last Jedi. I personally think that is a great title. It’s interesting, makes you wonder if there truly is a last Jedi. Maybe Rey will start the Training Academy again. I just can’t wait until December to finally find out the answers to all the questions the Force Awakens left us with. 

In the Doctor Who fandom, I heard that Peter Capaldi is leaving Doctor Who next season. Which means that the Doctor is regenerating soon. That makes me really upset because I love Twelve. I really, really love him. Eleven is my Doctor, but Twelve is amazing. But this is life a Whovian leads. 

We signed up for this. 
I just hope he doesn’t regenerate alone like Ten did. And I’m curious to see what they do with the next regeneration – the Thirteenth Doctor. I wonder what his iconic items will be. Nine has the leather jacket and bananas; Ten has the Converse, 3D glasses and catchphrase ‘Allons-y!’; Eleven, of course, is known for bow ties, fish fingers & custard, fezzes and ‘Geronimo!’. Twelve has his sonic sunglasses. What will Thirteen have??

While we’re on the subject of TV, I also started watching another BBC favorite, Sherlock. I was hooked by the first case, and I knew I was going to love Sherlock and John’s friendship. I noticed that I am typically most attracted to INTJ character – hence, my love for the Twelfth Doctor, and now Sherlock. They both have the best non-chalant, blunt and hysterical one-liners. 

There’s something about the INTJ that intrigues me. Maybe it’s because I share the same dominate cognitive function (Ni) and the same inferior function (Se), and reversed middle funtions with the INTJ (Te, Fi for INTJ; Fe, Ti for INFJ). 

Or maybe it’s because I live with an INTJ (my mother) and I get to see the way they work in real life. Either way, if there’s an INTJ character in any book, show or movie, that character will most likely be one of my favorite characters. Strangely however, I don’t have my own INTJ character.

But back to Sherlock. I started watching it about a little over three weeks ago and I’m already finished with it. The cases and solutions are so mind-blowing. I love/hate Moriarty with a burning passion. I hate him like I hate the Daleks, but I love him (almost) like I love the Weeping Angels. Is he coming back, or is he really gone? Despite what’s alluded to, I have a difficult time believing that Moriarty is dead. If Sherlock faked his death, who says Moriarty couldn’t have?

And although I don’t like S4 as much as the rest, I will admit that it had the most awesome plot twist and a somewhat happy ending. It seems that the Baker Street duo is back to normal, and everyone is safe for the time being. I’m about to start fangirling about it, so for the sake of the length of this post, I will restrain myself.

Now onto books. I finished the Book Thief last week, and I’m preparing a book review post about it. So stay tuned for that. It was amazing. Really, really well-written. But I’ll tell you all about it later. Now that I finished it, I don’t really know what to read next. I have an ever-growing list of books to read, but I can never decided which one to read next.

Suggestions? What do you think I should read next?

Well, that’s about it.

8 thoughts on “Right Now – February 2017

  1. Omg this is awesome. I will not lie and say I will miss Peter Capaldi, because I won’t. He was just too crotchety for my tastes, like an extra cranky, cynical Ten. But as for Sherlock…
    *FANGIRL SQUEAL*

      1. One of my favorite things about 12 is that he is so grumpy! However most of my favorite characters are grumpy so…

      2. Exactly! I love grumpy characters! Especially when it’s obvious that they’re annoyed, like when Sherlock is being too clever for anyone else to keep up and he insults their boring, dull brains. The Doctor tends to do that as well, and I love it. Thanks for commenting!

  2. Also I totally think you should create an INTJ character for your story! I would love to see your insights on the INTJ mind!

  3. We LOVE Sherlock!!!…..!!!!!!! But I was extremely disappointed with the last season. They only give us a measly few episodes per season. I expect my mind to be blown….It wasn’t. But I love Benedict Cumberbatch so much as an actor, I’ve decided to forgive him anyway. Plus I love Martin Freeman. I loved him in Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy. And the BBC’s The Office (did you know they stole the Steve Carell version from the Brits?). He played the character that John Krasinski’s Jim was based on. Oh! side trivia: Martin Freeman (Watson) is married in real life to the actress that played his wife Mary on Sherlock! Isn’t that the cutest?? Anyway, I forgive them a very, very weird season 4. And I hope they make a season 5, though it doesn’t look likely….Them turning into big movie stars and all. Nothing good lasts long.

    1. Hi!
      Wow, I didn’t know that fun fact about The Office! I love that show (I don’t watch it very often, but when I do, it’s hilarious!). Also, yes, I think its super cute that the actors for Mary and John Watson are together in real life. I love when that happens ☺️☺️
      And I completely agree that nothing good last long…but we have the old seasons to rewatch again and again and again and cherish every second of those.
      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

