Book Review – The Outsiders

Author: S.E. Hinton
Rating: 3.5 stars (on a scale of 1-5)

I don’t know if I’m emotionally ready to talk about this book yet. I finished it a few days ago, so hopefully enough time has passed for my heart to heal.

The Outsiders is a book written by S.E. Hinton. It tells the story of fourteen-year-old Ponyboy Curtis and his group of greaser friends. I really enjoyed this book. The way Hinton wrote it is so natural feeling – it seems as if Ponyboy himself is talking directly to you and I love that in books. The characters are also very natural and life-like.

It’s a quick, easy read but very enjoyable. My thirteen-year-old sister read it a couple weeks ago and passed it to me when she finished, but I’m glad I didn’t read it when I was younger. The book at first glance seems very similar to the Baby-Sitters Club or the Boxcar Children with it’s group of kids and teens figuring out life. However, I was pleased when I found that it was a darker version of those other “coming of age” books. This book dives right into the division of society and the clashes between the classes. Although in the point of view of a young lower class member (called ‘greasers’), it shows a balanced attitude of both classes. Well, eventually.

Character developement is also very important. The narrator, Ponyboy, develops a lot in this book. Not only because he’s fourteen, but because of his situation. He’s seen some stuff. He’s been through some stuff. What he does in the book and why he does it is the result of what he’s been through.

Another thing I greatly appreciated was the way S.E. Hinton was able to get the reader to become emotionally attached to the characters. To me, if I’m not attached to the characters in any way, even if the plot is great, I most likely won’t enjoy the book. I love books that make me feel, make me laugh, make me cry. And this book did all of that. More crying than laughing, though. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. 

I don’t want to spoil the ending, but I will say that the ending is one of those where I just closed the book, sat back, and felt like my heart had just been ripped out and stomped on. In other words, the ending was great. 

Since this is my first book review, I want to know what you guys think. Did you like my review? Should I do more? Any book suggestions?

4 thoughts on “Book Review – The Outsiders

  1. You make me want to read it! Your mom was telling me about you girl’s reaction to the book. You know it’s a good one when you can’t shake the hold it has on you. For me, if it’s a good one (read tragic) I’ll be overcome for at least 2 weeks. And don’t expect me to talk about it in those 2 weeks! I’m composing myself. I hate it when Jamie asks me to tell him about a really good book I’ve been reading. It’s like asking me to sum up my life story in one paragraph. Can’t happen. Don’t want to try…. Just read the book! Probably because I’m an INFJ too. I feel it more deeply than most….And I don’t mind sad endings. Jamie HATES them. He likes everything to be wrapped up nice and neat and be a happily ever after ending. Kinda boring if you ask me!!

    Great review! I’ll read it when I want to feel all the feels and get my sniffles on šŸ˜‰

  2. Hi Becca! First of all, thanks so much for reading my blog and commenting. That means so much to me!!
    Yes, when I read, I become emotionally involved very quickly. Right now I’m reading the Book Thief and I love it. It’s going to be my next review post, but I’ll just say now that I.can’t.put.it.down.
    And what you said about explaining a book is like summing up your life, YES!! Because I’ve become so emotionally involved with the plot and the characters, it’s become my life. I feel like I’m living it! And that just makes it harder to explain my own book.
    Also, I had no idea you’re an INFJ!!! A lot of blogs I read turn out to be written by INFJs, and there’s some INFJs characters that I relate to, but I don’t know any in real life. Now I do!
    I love sad endings… And sad things. I see deeper meaning in things most people deem as sad. That’s probably why I love Doctor Who as much as I do- it’s a very sad, emotional show.
    What personality is Jamie? McKenzie also HATES sad endings, and she’s an ISFJ. Just wondering. And yes, I agree that it can be very boring to have a “happily ever after” ending. I do like them (in the case of Disney), but usually I prefer a messy, mysterious and heartwrenching ending, especially if it’s a series. The best example I can think of for that is Tuck Everlasting. Ugh that book! I loved it but it seriously ripped my heart out! (SPOILER ALERT) But I will take the sad ending over the alternative where Winnie lives forever with Jesse. I like to imagine how he copes and lives on without her. It’s less boring because we know that if she lived forever, they would’ve gotten married, had children, and well, lived forever together. Although it’s sad and not what everyone wanted, I love that ending.
    And lastly, thank you again for reading this review. I will definitely be doing more!!

    1. Jamie is an ISTJ with strong feeling tendencies. As a side note even though she is still young, I’m pretty sure Ella is an ISFJ too. You’ll see how strongly she feels her emotions. The only thing i’m not sure on just yet is if she is intuitive or sensory, but she processes things MUCH differently from Sophia who is an INFP (so she is a head in the clouds dreamer that drives me insane at times, as much as I love her!!). Oh! and just FYI – Rochelle Shawver is an INFJ too! So now you know 2 other INFJ’s šŸ˜‰ We are made of different stuff and my teen years were especially hard for me because of all the strong emotions I had to battle on a daily basis. But I eventually worked it all out and now I find that my strong intuition is something I pride myself on. My initial reaction to someone or something is almost never wrong!

      Keep up your writing! Your blog is great!! And us INFJ’s love to write, so it’s a cathartic way of working emotions out and gathering out thoughts into a cohesive stream.

      Can’t wait to see you guys this summer when we come up to visit!!

  3. Yes, I can definitely see Ella growing up to be ISFJ…which probably explains why she’s so attached to McKenzie. And I knew that Sophia had to be INFP- I know quite a few INFPs of all ages.
    I was leaning towards INFJ for Rochelle as well- I just couldn’t decide between the judging and the percieving functions. But now it all makes sense!
    I will keep writing and I can’t wait to finish the Book Thief so I can tell my readers all about it! However, I’m enjoying it so much I really don’t want it to end! Reading and writing have always been my favorite subjects, ever since I was in kindergarten but I never could explain why. Now I can: it truly is theraputic and cathartic as you said.
    Can’t wait to see you guys too!

Leave a Reply

