Kitchen Musings & Bakery Names

This past year, I decided what I want to do with my life career-wise. I want a bakery business. That’s where a lot of my passion is. Yes, I love writing (and I will always be writer before baker), but it’s a shame writers don’t get paid very much, unless you’re a best selling author. I’m not at that level, unfortunately, so author is off the possible job list for me 🙁

But it’s okay! Because I have other passions! And baking is one of those. 

I love to bake. I really, really do. I love cooking as well, and both are so therapeutic. I could spend hours upon hours in the kitchen. It’s my favorite room in the house.

I’ve been wondering lately what it is about baking that I love so much. Is it the food itself? Is it because neither of my sisters like to bake, so they know to stay out of the kitchen otherwise I’ll put them to work? Well, because psychology is another subject I have a passion for, I had to analyze why I love baking as much as I do.

My love of baking, I found, most likely stems from my insatiable need to serve and help others. A few years ago, I noticed in myself that I love to serve people. At eleven years old, you know what my dream job was? Waitress. I wanted to be a waitress for the longest time, and I still do. So I want need to help people. It doesn’t matter what kind of help; if I see someone suffering, I feel that suffering deep in my own heart and I just needed to help. If I see someone with an empty glass the dinnertable, I get up and refill it without thinking. And so upon taking the personality test and learning I’m an INFJ, I immediately knew I wanted to be a psychologist (funny sidenote: my autocorrect decided it knew what it was doing and changed ‘psychologist’ to ‘psychopath’; “So, do you know what you want to be when you grow up?” “Yes, I want to be a pyschopath.” 😝😝)

And I really, really wanted to be a therapist. It was the perfect job for me.

Until I learned I had to go to college for nine years. I can barely make it through four years of high school; and in college, I’ll just have to do high school all over again – but for longer!

So that’s out. I’m sad about that; two of my dream jobs, my hopes of becoming them squashed. Well, the waitress thing is still a possibility and will most likely happen.

I started baking more. Not a lot of eating, just baking. When I bake, I don’t have an appetite for the sweets and treats I’m making. Not that they don’t taste good; believe me, they do. It’s just being around baked goods a lot, for some reason, has lowered the intensity of my sweet tooth. It’s seems counter-intuitive, but my love of baking is not because of the end result. It’s the process itself I love.

I get this rush of joy and fulfillment when I serve someone a piece of cheesecake that they enjoy. I don’t mind clearing the table after dinner, or fetching someone an extra glass of water. It’s my purpose. It’s my job. That’s what I want to do. 

Okay, so I’m rambling. I didn’t intend to make this post very long, but that just goes to show that writing is my outlet and all my feelings pour out when I put words together.

Here’s what I really wanted to talk about in this post. Last night I was brainstorming bakery names.

One of the suggestions given by my parents was “Kayla’s Kakes.”

The mistake in grammar alone would drive me crazy, not to mention that I don’t like my nickname Kayla very much. 

I was kind of in a silly mood (it was almost 10pm), so I was making puns from bands and songs. I wanted to share a few of them.

  • twenty øne pies
  • Panic! At the Mixer
  • My Cupcake Romance
  • Fall Out Brownies
  • One Confection
  • Bread Sheeran (I was cracking up when I thought of this one)

And then I was making up some songs too:

  • ‘Fried’ by twenty øne pies
  • ‘Heavydirtybowl’ by twenty øne pies
  • ‘I Bake Sweets Not Disasters’ by Panic! At the Mixer

Yeah I was really tired 🤣

Leave a Reply

