S’mores Cupcakes


If you know me, you know I don’t like summer. I don’t like the heat, and the beach isn’t my first choice of a hang-out place. However, my dislike for summer does not include food that is usually associated with the season. Of course it wouldn’t. I love food all year round, whether it’s summer or winter related. 

I think it’s safe to say that most people associate S’mores with summer. Being with friends around a campfire, roasting marshmallows is what most people enjoy during summer.

I love S’mores. I can only eat one or two (three at most, and only if I want to be sick that night), but I savor each bite. Have you ever tried putting a Reeces peanut butter cup in place of the chocolate? Mmmmm, so good!

Anyway, we can all agree that S’mores are definitely a favorite summertime treat. But what happens when it gets too cold to sit out there, roasting marshmallows? Well, you certainly could withstand the winter and make traditional campfire S’mores. And who am I to stop you? If I get the craving strong enough, you bet I’d be out there. The cold never bothered me anyway, as a Disney queen likes to put it.

But what if I told you that you could get the S’mores flavor without freezing, trying to make a fire? I’m sure I’m not the first to tell you, but there is a way.

And what better way than…. cupcakes?!

No campfire necessary.

S’mores Cupcakes

Serves 12

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 cup crushed graham cracker crumbs plus 1/4 cup for topping
  • 1 cup marshmallow fluff (or as much as you need to frost the cupcakes)
  • 4 Hershey chocolate bars

Equipment:

  • Muffin pan
  • 1 piping bag (you could use a disposable one, but because the marshmallow fluff is so sticky, I think a resusable bag is better. I used a vinyl bag from Wilton)
  • Piping tip 2A (the frosting doesn’t need to be fancy)
  • a kitchen torch

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream together butter and sugar. Add the egg and vanilla and beat until just combined. 
  2. Stir together the dry ingredients. Add half the dry ingredients to the butter/sugar mixture, and mix. Then add the milk and the second half of the dry ingredients. Mix thoroughly.
  3. Line a muffin pan with cupcake liners or spray with non-stick. Using a small cookie scoop (a regular spoon works fine though), scoop and drop the batter in each cavity. They should be filled almost completely, about 3/4 full. 
  4. Break a few chocolate squares in half and place one on top of  each cupcake. Smooth the batter over the chocolate.
  5. Bake for 25 minutes or until browned ontop and then let cool in the pan for 5 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack and cool completely. Prepare the piping bag with the marshmallow fluff and pour the remaining 1/4 cup of graham cracker crumbs into a small bowl.
  6. When cupcakes are completely cooled, pipe about a tablespoon onto the top of each cupcake. Using a butter knife, swirl the fluff around, making sure to cover the entire top of the cupcakes.
  7. Dip each cupcakes in the graham crumbs, rotating so that only the outer edges of the tops are covered. 
  8. Using a kitchen torch, brown the top of the marshmallow fluff.
  9. Top with a Hershey square and enjoy!

Note: These are not the best cupcakes to have leftover. They’re not pretty and the fluff kind of melts and runs down the side. But on the bright side, they look more like traditional S’mores – sticky and messy but still so good. Also, I made mini cupcakes. If you are using a mini muffin tin, reduce the bake time to 10-15 minutes instead.

Leave a Reply

