The Flatbread My Family Has Been Living On


Not too long ago, everyday for a straight week, my sisters and I only ate this recipe for lunch and dinner. It is just so good. In fact, it’s so good that we’re still not sick of it. The only reason why we haven’t made it in a few days is that we ran out of a certain ingredient. That being, the best thing on the planet.

“The best thing on the planet” may be a little bold as a title, but I certainly have been in the mood where the title is 100% accurate. I’m talking about fig jam goat cheese. I’m sure you’ve seen blueberry goat cheese. You know, the goat cheese that’s covered in a blueberry syrup. Personally, I wasn’t a big fan of the blueberry goat cheese. However, it’s been awhile since I’ve had it, so I’d like to give it another try.

But back to the fig jam goat cheese. Really, it was a no brainer that I’d love this. I love fig jam (with Gouda, it is the bomb. It’s so “good-a”…. *snickers at lame pun*). I love goat cheese. Add the two together and it is beautiful. Like peanut butter + chocolate, it’s a combo that couldn’t go wrong. 

And then I thought about what to put it on. It’s good all by itself, but it needed something. It needed salty. Crunchy. Like a cracker. Well, I found something better. 

A few months ago, I had the best flatbread at a restaurant. No joke. It was so good. Goat cheese, arugula, proscuitto and a drizzle of olive oil. I ate the entire thing. And I don’t usually eat bread. Save for a freshly toasted, cream-cheesed NY bagel or fresh baked Italian bread, I don’t really miss bread since I cut wheat and grains out of my diet. Now bagels and Italian bread have a new roommate on my Treat Foods List. Flatbread.

Trader Joe’s has amazing flatbread. (Ah, who am I kidding? Trader Joe’s has amazing everything.) It comes in a pack of three and they’re small but long. Perfect for one serving. When I saw the flatbread in the store, I nearly screamed with excitement. I know.

I’m such a foodie. I might as well add “Food” to the fandoms I’m in. Fangirl of Food. Foodie. Fanfood. I’m so hungry. 🥗🥖

Anyway… 

Here’s the recipe. I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!!

Fig Goat Cheese Flatbread

Serves 1 – but this is super easy to double. 

Ingredients:

  • 1 piece Trader Joe’s Tandoori Naan (but any flatbread will do; I’ve used whole wheat and a garlic flatbread from Aldi)
  • Fig goat cheese, about a 1/4 cup crumbled
  • 2 slices proscuitto, pulled apart into smaller pieces
  • 1 small handful arugula

Note: if you can’t find fig goat cheese, it’s still possible to get the flavor. Just use regular goat cheese, and spread about two tablespoons of fig jam on the flatbread after toasting. 

Directions: 

  • Preheat oven to broil (I use a toaster oven set at broil/toast). Put flatbread in the oven and toast until lightly brown and crispy, about 3 – 5 minutes. The bottom should still be soft. (That’s my favorite part about flatbread.)
  • When toasted, top with the goat cheese (see note), proscuitto and arugula. 
  • Pop back into oven until the cheese is just bubbly and browned. 
  • Enjoy!

This recipe makes a great lunch or dinner paired with a side salad. Or serve it to guests as an appetizer.

Leave a Reply

