Warning: this post may contain spoilers!!


Well, I finally saw it. Rogue One, the latest Star Wars movie everyone’s been excited about. The trailers peaked curiosity in every Star Wars fan. Most of the thoughts that ran through my head upon watching the trailer for the first time were along these lines: 

“Is that the ‘Imperial March’????” *Internal squealing*

“Who are these people?” 

“Where’s Darth Vader???”  

“I don’t know who she is yet, but she’s awesome.”

“Whoa…”

“I need to see this.”

“OMG THERE’S VADER!!!” *External squealing* 

*hyperventilating because of the awesome epic-ness of this movie*

Last night, my dad, sister and I went to see it. The movie was just as awesome as I thought. I was not disappointed.

Now for the spoilers I warned about. Don’t tell River. 

So basically, they all die. I knew that going into the movie because it’s so obvious from the trailer. And the fact that none of these new characters are in the rest of the movies. But lots of people suspected that too. 

I’ve heard theories that Jyn Erso is Rey’s mother. Well, hate to break it to you, but Rey’s story and ancestry remains a mystery. Jyn is not her mother.

I have a new ship. Though according to some articles I read, Jyn and Cassian’s relationship is not technically canon, and 

with them dead by the end of the movie, there really is no relationship. But whatever. I ship who I want to ship. And I want to ship Jyn and Cassian. End of story.

Another thing I loved immensely was the strong female lead. Star Wars has always had strong women with prominet roles, starting with Leia Organa. There’s also Padmè Amidala, Mara Jade (in the books; she’s my favorite SW book character), and Rey Last-Name-Uknown. There are even more Star Wars women that deserve honorable mentions, such as Queen Amidala’s handmaidens, Shmi Skywalker, Mon Mothma, Ahsoka Tano, and Maz Kanata.

If I missed any, please comment and tell me! And share your personal favorites too!

Rogue One give us yet another inspiring female lead, Jyn Erso, and proves that us girls are capable of saving the world just like the guys. Outside of the Star Wars universe too, there are amazing women who carry out leadership roles (just a few that come to mind are River Song, Katniss Everdeen {thought I haven’t seen/read The Hunger Games}, Maximum Ride, and my very own Avalon Harlow). This makes me happy. Very happy.

Look at all the stormtroopers this girl took out!

I was also pleased with the comic relief of this movie. I thought it was so funny. K-2SO is such a funny droid, joining R2, Threepio and BB-8 on my favorite characters list. Of course, there are very dark aspects to this movie. After all, what is Star Wars without the Dark Side? But the comic relief ties the Darkness together nicely. The one-liners are just epic.

And lastly, Darth Vader. When I saw him at the end of the trailer, I knew that even if the rest of the movie didn’t meet my expectations, just the fact that my favorite villain would be in it again excited me. I honestly love Darth Vader so.dang.much. He had a one-liner that made me laugh louder than I want to admit.

“Be careful not to choke on your aspirations.”

As he starts to Force-choke someone. I think we can all agree on Darth Vader’s level of boss.

So all in all, Rogue One did not disappoint me and I was very happy with it. I would see it in theaters again (though, maybe not as many times as I saw The Force Awakens…or maybe I will) and I will buy it as soon as I see it on DVD in stores.

One thought on “Warning: this post may contain spoilers!!

Leave a Reply

