Classic Cheesecake with a Classic Twist

Everyone loves classic desserts: good ol’ cheesecake, Grandma’s homemade chocolate chip cookies, fudgy brownies with the crackly tops, vanilla cupcakes with chocolate frosting. These are all basic desserts that never grow old. Of course though, we like to put new spins and twists on old recipes.

Like this one here. Classic cheesecake. Classic chocolate chip cookie. Fresh, new twist on both: Cheesecake with a cookie dough crust.

Okay, maybe not new. I’ve seen this idea floating around a few food blogs, and I saw a version of this idea in a deli. Most of the recipes were for chocolate chip cheesecake bars. I wanted to to try it that way, but my mini cheesecake pan was calling out to me. So my recipe is mini cheesecakes with a cookie crust. But the idea is basically the same.

It was really easy and came together in about forty minutes (excluding baking and cooling time, which always takes a while with cheesecake). It would’ve gone even faster if I had a second Kitchen Aid mixer, but I enjoy baking so I don’t mind the extra time. I just took a chocolate chip cookie and a cheesecake recipe, tweaked them a bit, and voilà, chocolate chip cookie dough cheesecake. CCDC for short.

I wasn’t quite sure how they would come out. I wasn’t sure if the tang of the cheesecake would pair well with the sweet chocolatey-ness of the cookie, even with the bar recipes floating around. So I thought about doing half batches, but I figured that if it didn’t come out any good, I would just bake a regular cheesecake and regular cookies with the extra batter/dough.

No need for a regular cheesecake or regular cookies.

The tangy-sweet cream cheese pairs really well with the crisp chocolatey cookie. It’s like a party of unexpected delicious-ness in your mouth, with cheesecake and choc. chip cookie dancing together for the first time. It’s not overly sweet either, which is something I was worried about, even though I reduced the amount of sugar. 

Overall, this is a recipe I will definitely make again, and I will be experiementing with different variations.

Maybe I’ll do a full cheesecake with the cookie dough crust…Stay tuned!

Cheesecake with Chocolate Chip Cookie Crust

For the cookie crust:

  • 1 stick butter, room temp
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups AP flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • chocolate chips (I don’t usually measure them, but for this recipe I used about 1/2 cup; I don’t want to use too many chocolate chips because it makes it hard to press into the mini-cheesecake pan)

For the cheesecake:

  • 24oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 3 eggs, room temp
  • 1/3 cup sour cream, room temp

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Beat together butter and sugars until combined, then add the egg and vanilla. Mix until combined, only a minute or two.
  2. Add the flour, baking soda, and salt. Mix on low speed until incorporated. Add chocolate chips.
  3. Spoon about little less than a tablespoon into the cavities of a mini cheesecake pan (you could also use a regular/mini muffin tin). Press the cookie dough flat in the bottoms.
  4. Bake the cookie dough for about five minutes.
  5. Meanwhile, beat the cream cheese on high until fluffy. Add the sugar, vanilla, and sour cream and combine. Add each egg one at a time and beat on low until smooth, thick and silky.
  6. When the cookie dough is done, let cool but don’t let it harden. The cookies should be puffed up and soft. With a spoon, scrape out some of the dough until only a thin layer is left in the pan. Otherwise, there won’t be enough room for the cheesecake. (Underbaked cookie dough is now one of my favorite things ever because of this step.)
  7. Scoop about a tablespoon or two onto the cookie dough, filling the cavities to the brim. Bake for 10 minutes.
  8. The cheesecakes are done when puffy and lightly browned, but still wet in the center. Let cool completely.
  9. Repeat until all the dough and batter is gone.
  10. After cooled, place the cheesecakes in an airtight container and store in the fridge.
  11. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

